or rather the people i work with as well as the people i meet. i love mexicans. i really love the people and just how damn similar it all is. when i was young and my family would go out shopping or whatever my dad would always, without fail, find someone to talk to and impart his wisdom on. meanwhile, i was young, impatient and easily annoyed and i would stand there nudging and pulling on his coat while he talked until he finally got the hint. today, i was the person on the other end and i must admit it was rather interesting and amusing to watch.
i love being mexican and being able to talk spanish and helping out those few families that come in and need that little bit of help. i know my family would never walk into a place like sport chalet because they feel awkward, out of place. it is a predominantly "white" store and it's understandable. and when those few families do go in, they do overlook me because they assume that yeah i'm american born and won't be able to talk to them. usually what'll happen is they'll talk to one another trying to figure out how to communicate or send the youngest to translate in which case i'll interject right away.
anyhow, right off this man started in spanish but i hesitated, being caught off guard. but quickly jumped and helped as best i could. as usual, he complained about the price of whatever and how cheap it would be if his kids would just accept the fact that the only difference is the name on the item and he could just as easily pick it up for half the price in los angeles. thus began the long-winded rant about how everything is about worth and price and how completely pointless that is since it's all made in china anyhow. then began the venting about the american life and how it's all about roots: buying a house, getting a 40 hr/week job and starting a family. how nobody knows where they come from anymore, nobody travels, sees the world, nobody does anything anymore. i nodded, interjecting with "it's all about the 'american dream'" and he nodded, pleased. meanwhile his daughter was tugging and pulling on his jacket and rolling her eyes as if to say, "god. i'm sorry, he does this all the time!" and left. with the backpack in tow.
the entire time at work we're so anxious to leave, then today we spent about half an hour in the parking lot. talking, just talking. it was pleasant though. one of the girls was talking about how she studied in france for a month and how wine and beer is cheaper than water! and they'd have to go to the laundromat to get free internet access and the vending machines had good, cheap beer. i must admit, i wouldn't mind living in france for a year. or spain. ohh, god. how i ache to travel...
my throat is so sore. i hate being ill.
i really do like my job.
About this entry
Youre currently reading i really do like my job..
- Published:
- on Tuesday, March 17, 2009
- Previous:
- Older Post
- Next:
- Newer Post
0 comentarios: